This year my resolution was to read at least two books a month after the disappointing dearth of reading of 2015. I discovered Scribd, an ebook subscription service that functions almost like a Netflix for books, and I have loved it! So far, I have been able to complete at least a book per week and I’m really hoping that the trend continues…it has been wonderful to have my nose in a book on the daily once again.

The Museum of Extraordinary Things– Alice Hoffman [⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️]

https://i2.wp.com/ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/516xjfygWpL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

This was a fascinating and quick read- the story of a girl and her father living in a “freak show” museum in Coney Island during the early twentieth century. Both a drama and a mystery that at times left me with the chills, the story wove itself through familiar historical events such as the Triangle Shirtwaist Factory fire, the invention of the incubator in Coney Island, and the political machine in.New York City. Reminiscent of Water for Elephants, this story was thought provoking, informative, and left me with a sense of adventure.

The Good Daughters– Joyce Maynard [⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️]

https://i2.wp.com/d.gr-assets.com/books/1282860314l/8134469.jpg

Although this story took me several chapters to really get into it, I enjoyed it in the end. Maynard told the story of two very different families who were nothing alike yet for some reason stayed in touch–much to the chagrin of one.

After Birth– Elisa Albert [⭐️⭐️⭐️]

https://i0.wp.com/mediad.publicbroadcasting.net/p/wamc/files/201503/elisaalbert_afterbirth.jpg

After Birth was a whirlwind. I finished it very quickly and was left with a feeling of melancholy and a hope that the main character is able to find some medication and happiness in motherhood. Albert writes in a very raw tone, and an honesty that few authors seem to possess when it comes to staying at home with a baby.

The Gravity of Birds– Tracy Guzeman [⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️]

https://i2.wp.com/tracyguzeman.com/images/TheGravityofBirds.jpg

The discovery of a famous artists’ painting uncovers family secrets from forty years previous, shaking the foundations of Alice Kessler’s life. The story was well written and heartbreaking–what would have happened if life had gone another way and that the truth had been told from the beginning?

 

