Since I went dairy-free almost three years ago, food and I have had more of an anxious relationship. When I start to get hungry, my brain goes into panic-mode wondering what and where I’m going to get my next food–and whether or not it’ll make me sick.

One of the ways that I’ve found to combat this is to make sure that I have snacks with me- a granola bar in my purse, snacks in my desk, and plenty in the pantry.

Capture

One: Kind Bars. Easy to take on-the-go and tasty to boot, my favorites are Cranberry Almond and Peanut Butter Dark  Chocolate. Available at King Soopers/Kroger, Sprouts, and Whole Foods. Be sure to check the nutrition label before purchasing as some flavors do contain dairy.

Two: Edamame. I’ve been eating these like they’re going out of style lately! They’re a great snack for after work and tasty with soy sauce. They’re a little more on the pricey side but I was able to find a package of 12 microwave pouches for $12 at Costco. It’s a great serving size and organic- which is a great deal considering that the best prices I’ve been able to find at grocery stores is $1.50 for lesser quality (and sometimes shriveled) pods.

Three: Ritz Crackers. These are so easy to take with me and snack on throughout the day, and the snack packs are so portable! You can find these at your nearby grocery store.

Four: Lara Bars (my favorite is Apple Pie). I love that these have 10g of protein in them, sometimes the hardest thing about eating granola bars is that you’re not satisfied. The extra protein helps with that. I’ve found them at King Soopers. Spouts, and a multi flavor at Costco.

Five: Fruit smoothies! I add whatever fruit (frozen or fresh) is on hand to almond milk in the blender and it’s ready very quickly. As an added bonus, I’ll add spinach or kale to sneak in some extra vitamins. To sweeten it, I’ll add some honey. If you want extra vitamin C, add a drop or two of Lemon Essential Oil–but make sure it’s food grade! I recommend Young Living.

Six: Pretzel Goldfish. One of the things that I miss the most from my pre-dairy-free life is cheddar goldfish. While these aren’t cheddar, they’re still pretty dang good. Easy to pop in a few whether at home or at the office, and they’re cheap to boot! Find at any nearby grocery store.

Seven: Oreos. I went a year and a half dairy-free before I found out that these were dairy free through Pinterest. I’m not kidding, I almost cried I was so excited. My husband and I have plowed through a lot of these as our “treat” snack…they’re not healthy at all but they’re so good. Find at any nearby grocery store- while they aren’t the cheapest they go on sale relatively often.

What are some of your favorite dairy free snacks?

