Thankfully, I was able to stick to my guns and continue on my book a week trend! I’m really hoping that this is something that I’m able to keep up for the rest of the year, and that I can continue in the habit of reading often. I’ve found that reading is really something that you’re either in the habit of doing, or you’re not. I grew up reading constantly, and once I fell out of it and into the constantly stimulating world of Netflix and Social Media, it has been harder than I thought it would be to get back into the habit of quieting my mind and just enjoy reading for reading’s sake (unless I was in the bathtub or a waiting room). Now that I have the goal to read a book a week and am paying for the reading subscription service, it’s been a great motivator.

Here’s the scoop on the books I read this last month.

The Thirteenth Tale– Diane Setterfield [⭐️⭐️⭐️]

https://i1.wp.com/ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/81KOIdTwCVL.jpg

A amateur historian and book lover is summoned by one of England’s most famous novelists to write her biography–and uncovers family secrets in the process.

Admittedly, I had high hopes for this book as it had come highly recommended to me and had #1 New York Times Bestseller emblazoned on the top. However. While the book had a good story line, it just took me so long to get into and it felt like it just moved so much slower than it needed to! I was able to finish it but just wasn’t enthralled.

Brooklyn – Colm Toibin [⭐️⭐️⭐️]

A small town Irish girl is sent by her family to Brooklyn to make a new, and hopefully more successful life, in America.

https://i2.wp.com/ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/81uwzl6-AHL.jpg

I had no idea this was a movie nor that was up for an Oscar until after I had started reading it. (This may be attributed to the fact that we don’t have network TV…just Netflix and Chromecast haha.) I would be super interested to see how they went ahead and did this onscreen as I came away from the book with much the same opinion as I did with the previous title, that Brooklyn was a good story but it wasn’t exactly gripping. It also seemed too similar to other historical fiction I have read from the same time period. And then the ending…so abrupt and wait they’re not missing pages?! It took me a few seconds to realize that that was actually it. No closure.

The Pact– Jodi Picoult [⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️]

https://i0.wp.com/www.jodipicoult.com/images/the-pact-06-lg.jpg

After tragedy strikes Emily and Chris, two families struggle to deal with the mystery of what happened and the court case that follows.
This was actually a re-read of a book I read my freshman year of High School…which was 9 years ago when I did the math. I suddenly feel a little older. I remember reading it on the sidelines of flag football games and while waiting to pick up my younger sister, and being so enthralled by Picoult’s writing style. And, while I didn’t plan it that way, the great thing about waiting so long to read it again was that I knew I liked the book but I couldn’t remember exactly what happened or how it ended, so win-win! (That definitely sounded like something my mama would say…) The book was gripping and still required the use of one’s brain, and then left the reader with situations and outcomes to ponder even after the story was finished.

 

Little Earthquakes– Jennifer Weiner [⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️]

https://i1.wp.com/ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/41f0bgYuWnL._SX319_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

A group of women bond over their differing yet similar experiences of becoming mothers.

This was my first book by Jennifer Weiner, and I had always been curious if the prolific author’s books were hit or miss. Judging by this one, I came to the conclusion that they’re great “pass the time” or vacation books that moved along at a good speed and are entertaining, yet not profound–similar to Emily Griffith’s writing style. I appreciated that while this book seemed to be a more honest take on motherhood in comparison to the glowy Hollywood depictions, it didn’t throw off an an angry vibe through the whole book like “After Birth” did. (And, as I don’t have children yet, I couldn’t tell you which one was more accurate…this one was just more to my taste.) I did enjoy the book but probably won’t tear through her other novels in rapid succession.

What were your favorite reads for this month?

