It’s been almost three years since I went dairy-free, and creamy pasta is one of the things that I miss the most–up there with pizza and cheese.

I decided to try making my own version of Cauliflower Alfredo after my husband mentioned missing Alfredo too. I searched high and low on Pinterest and decided to create my own version. My version is slightly different from the usual cauliflower alfredo as 1) it doesn’t have Parmesan cheese in it (that would make me sick) or 2) there are no nutritional yeast flakes in it as I detest”fake cheese” tasting things. The only decent-tasting fake cheese I have tried was only lactose free instead of dairy free. *insert crying face here*

Ingredients (to serve 2 adults):

  • 2 chicken breasts
  • 1 head of cauliflower
  • vegetable broth
  • lemon juice
  • 2-3 cloves of garlic (depending on how much you like garlic!)
  • onion or onion powder
  • black pepper
  • salt
  • garlic powder
  • parsley
  • olive oil
  • spaghetti noodles

My personal style of cooking is put as much (or little) of the listed spices that you want– I have tried so many bland recipes on Pinterest and ended up just adding a heck ton more spices than are listed to make it to my liking. Some people like things a little more bland and that’s okay too! I add lots of spices to everything, but things are added gradually until I like how they taste.

I embarked on my cooking experiment by preheating the oven to 425 F and seasoning the chicken with salt, pepper, garlic powder, and parsley and drizzling it with a little olive oil. It then went into the oven for about 20-25 minutes while still frozen, and I just kept an eye on it.

Then I started on the cauliflower. I chopped it up and started steaming it  on medium heat with vegetable broth (1 1/2 cup), all the spices, and the cloves of garlic. It smelled h e a v e n l y. At the same time, I started boiling water for the noodles.

Once the cauliflower was soft (maybe 10 minutes later), I started gradually adding the entire mixture it to the food processor. I ended up adding some extra vegetable broth to the food processor to get the texture to be a little smoother.

At this point, the water was boiling so I added the spaghetti noodles. I turned down the heat under the Alfredo pot and poured the mixture back into the pan in order to heat it back up. I added more parsley and garlic salt at that point and stirred it up. Now, I just had to wait for the chicken and the noodles to be done.

Once everything was done (10 minutes later), I cut up the chicken and put it on top of the noodles in a bowl, then added the sauce. Voila!

It’s not the prettiest looking dish, but for a dairy free cream sauce, I think it was pretty tasty!

What would you add to a sauce like this? Have you found any good dairy-free creamy pasta sauces? I’d love to hear about it! 🙂

