The Mercury Visions of Louis Daguerre– Dominic Smith [⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️]

https://i1.wp.com/d28hgpri8am2if.cloudfront.net/book_images/cvr9780743271240_9780743271240_hr.jpg

“Love is not like choosing a partner for whist. It has a life of its own. Our duty is merely to follow its call.”

While suffering from mercury poisoning, Louis Daguerre–father of the daguerreotype– has a vision of Armageddon and becomes convinced that the world is ending very soon. But before the end, he has a list of daguerreotypes that he wants to take, including one of the woman he has always loved. The completion of his list, with the help of a poet and a prostitute, takes him all over Paris. The question remains–will he find his love?

I rarely give a book five stars, but this one just sang to me. Smith employed words in such a beautiful way and was able to describe things in a succinct yet poetic manner. It was enjoyable to learn about a character from photography history, and the setting, Paris, is one of my absolute favorite places on the planet. The city literally feels like it breathes history and culture. It is one of my favorite things to read books about the history of places that I’ve been or that I’m currently at, and I loved being able to picture the view from Notre Dame as Louis was there, L’Hotel de Ville, or one of the many bridges.

I would love to read another one of his books!

