Yesterday, my mama and I went to the Interweave Yarn Festival in Loveland to celebrate her birthday. She’s a knitting lady herself, and she just got into spinning, so I thought it’d be great fun. We were not disappointed!  It was so interesting to be there and to see all the different businesses, types of yarn, and the work that people did. It was great fun to talk with different vendors about crafts and their animals, and I think my mom was able to learn a lot, and I left a lot more interested in spinning! It’s definitely something that would be fun to try in the future (if a bit expensive).

My mom left with several business cards, offers to help her in the learning process, fiber dye from the 100th Sheep, and an alpaca batting of fiber to use on her wheel. After much deliberation, I decided on a brioche knitting pattern for a shawl to keep me warm at work, and some gorgeous yarn to go with it from Yoth Yarns–they were rocking the “young and hip knitters” vibe. I loved their muted colors and the variety of patterns! Sometimes it feels like knitting and/or fiber arts get a bad rap for being a granny thing (in fact, Buzzfeed informed me that I’m 70% granny) so it was cool to see how they were making it modern AND stylish.

While I’m not sure if we’ll be going to the Estes Park Wool Festival this year (it’s where my family’s desire to get alpacas and move to a ranch started…) because of scheduling and the insane schedule that is May-June, let me know if you are planning on it! At the very least I’d love to hear what you thought!

Wish me luck on the brioche…it’s gonna be a process!

Have you ever been to a yarn festival or tried brioche knitting? Let me know in the comments below! 🙂

