I have a thing for soups. And trying new ones. I could probably exist solely running on soups- there are so many combinations and spices and lovely warm goodness.

This particular soup is one that I make again and again– it’s that good! My husband also loves it. I first saw the idea for the soup on Two Peas and Their Pod in the form of Italian Sausage Tortellini Soup. However, since I have a dairy allergy and pork sensitivity, a few things had to be changed around.


The first thing I switched was chicken sausage for Italian sausage, and then used Orzo noodles in the place of tortellini (which admittedly was a sad swap). And, since I had spinach and not kale in my fridge last night, I went ahead and swapped it out too.

Ingredients

-chicken sausage

-red pepper

-chicken broth

-can of diced tomatoes

-orzo

-1 bay leaf

-red pepper flakes

-Italian seasoning

-garlic powder

-onion powder

-salt and pepper

Instructions

1.  Cook the chicken sausage on the stove and add the red pepper to saute. At the same time, set water in another pot to boil the orzo.

2. Once the chicken sausage is fully cooked, open the can of diced tomatoes and pour it in. Add the chicken broth.

3.  Add spices to taste. The bigger the pot of soup = more spices. If you like less spicy, the less red pepper flakes the better.

4. Once the orzo is done, drain and add to the soup.

5. Lastly, add the spinach (or kale) and let it cook.

6. See? Soup is easy and wonderful. 🙂 Enjoy!

P.S. It’s especially delicious when paired with sourdough toast!

 

What are your favorite kinds of soup?

