When Camille is sent back to her hometown in Missouri to investigate a string of murdered girls, she’s not looking forward to it. She hasn’t been home in over a decade, and the thought of staying with her high-strung mother, stepfather, and a half sister who she barely knows is stomach-churning. The local authorities know very little and she has trouble getting anyone to talk. But as she starts unraveling what happened to Ann and Natalie, she comes to terms with her own past and the dark mysteries surrounding her family.


Guys, Gillian Flynn is a genius. I had read Gone Girl early last year and had loved her style of writing. When I saw another blogger mention it in her TBR list, it piqued my interest and I decided to put a hold on the ebook through my library (yes, you can do that and it’s pretty amazing). When I was in middle school I went through a long mystery novel phase and continue to love them, though now my overactive imagination requires that I read them few and far between as dark subjects tend to give me nightmares. And, oh my goodness, y’all. If you want to read a book that is SO good but leaves you on the edge of your seat with your heart pounding and shivers, this is it. I devoured it in only a few days and by the end my chest was tight but I needed to know what happened. Flynn is the master of the psychological thriller, and I kept going back and forth between who I thought it was. Next on my list is her Dark Placesstay tuned for that review soon!

 

