When Piper graduated from college in the early 1990s, she was looking for adventure, and she found it in Nora and a very short lived stint as a drug smuggler and money launderer. Fast forward ten years, and she’s working successfully, and lives with her fiance and with a great group of friends in New York. The drug ring that she was briefly associated with is caught and Piper finds herself stuck in a women’s prison. Her memoir focuses on her time and prison and what it’s like to be an outsider looking in, as a woman serving time for an offense that happened 10 years ago. How will she make it through the next 15 months?

I wasn’t sure what to expect from this book as I had heard a variety of things about the Netflix show (which I haven’t seen) but had heard positive things about Kerman’s book. I have always enjoyed listening to memoirs and wanted to see what the hype was all about. From what I can tell after listening to the book, the show is only loosely based on the memoir. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and Kerman’s style of writing, and I listened to this as I got ready each morning for a week and my brief foray to the gym. Kerman has a great way of describing her experiences and the people that she met and I felt like I was watching everything that happened.  I loved it and would highly recommend it!

Have you ever read Orange is the New Black? What did you think?

