Something I’ve had trouble with is reading a large chunk of a book before realizing that I don’t like it.

And it happens a lot.

Then I’m torn– do I finish it to see what happens and be unhappy while reading it or do I throw out the time I’ve spent on it?

I’ve finally come to the realization that life is too short to finish books you don’t like. There’s so many books out there that have the potential to be on your favorites list, for a story to make your heart race, or to get lost in another world entirely. If you don’t like it, just stop reading it. Even if it’s a popular and well-known book that everyone loves. You don’t have to!

This has happened to me several times this year, most recently this last week. So I’ve stopped reading them. I don’t like not knowing what happens to the characters, but I’ve come to realize that with books that I don’t love, the feeling of finishing a book and going “What the??!?! Why did I waste my time??” (a la State of Wonder and The Queen’s Fool) is much worse. You can move on to brighter and better pastures.

What are some books that you’ve “quit” recently?

