Denyse what say what pink huh

The more I learn about knitting, the more I realize how much more there is to learn.

I recently found that there are two different kinds of knitting: English or Continental.  And I’ve been knitting for over 10 years! I think it’s because I wasn’t around many other knitters when I was younger…it was still considered an “old lady” craft. My grandmother and mother, both from Nebraska, were the only knitters I knew until college! 

For those of you who just had a WHAT THE?! moment as well, the simplistic explanation is that in the English style you “throw” the yarn, whereas in Continental style you “pick up” the yarn (to see it in action, view the YouTube videos linked above). Now that I’ve seen the English style I’m definitely intrigued, but I can’t get over the fact that I’d have to add an entire extra step (of throwing the yarn) to get a single stitch done. As someone who has never done anything but continental, it seems counterproductive! However, I’ve seen that it’s good to learn both because it can help to relieve pain and/or to give you a different gauge when you’re knitting.

Which style do you use and why? Does English change how quickly you can knit?

