Families who craft together stay together…

As I mentioned a few months ago, my mama has been learning how to spin this year with the fiber from our alpacas. Since she started spinning I’ve been waiting eagerly to see how her yarn turned out and how it looks when it’s knitted!

She got a spinning wheel, a carder, and dyes and has been learning the process and making GORGEOUS soft yarns. If this is what she’s accomplishsed during her first year, she’s on to great things!! This yarn is 100% alpaca, hand dyed and hand spun. It makes me want to learn how to spin! When I was at the ranch a few days ago she showed me how she was dyeing her fiber and her growing stash of yarn. It’s a knitter’s dream.

When I mentioned how much I loved the one below, she suggested that I test knit it to see how it works. (She also said I could borrow a knitting book from a library book sale because it looked a little intense for her, so it was a knitter’s Christmas morning!)

I’ve started knitting a cowl with it and it is so soft and pretty, and I don’t think I’ve ever knitted with something so luxurious before! I love being able to see the whole process- from alpaca to finished work. I can’t wait to show you all the finished product!

As a final note, here for your enjoyment is the adorable, dopey and sweet Poppi, my parents’ Maremma Sheepdog.

What is your favorite kind of yarn?

